Cocaine Possession Classification in Florida
Possession of cocaine in Florida is classified as a 3rd degree felony and carries a potential 5 year prison sentence and $5,000 fine. Additionally, anyone who is convicted of possession of cocaine in Florida will lose their driver’s license for two years.
Possession of cocaine laws in Florida vary according to the amount of cocaine and the geographic area of the offense. Under Florida law, one can be charged with possession of cocaine for merely possessing a detectable amount of cocaine up to 28 grams. Possession of “detectable” or small amounts of cocaine may be considered “simple” possession or for personal use.
Detectable amounts don’t have to be a gram of powder cocaine or a crack rock; “detectable” could be merely the residue left behind in a baggy, pipe, syringe, or on a spoon. For first time offenders charged with possession of cocaine, they can sometimes qualify for a diversion program.
Possession of cocaine in any amount less than 28 grams with intent to distribute or sell is a 2nd degree felony (with more severe penalties if sold near a school). An arrest for possession of 28 grams of cocaine is considered trafficking and a 1stdegree felony.